Facebook adds new settings to prevent private groups from switching to the public.
By: Date: June 16, 2020 Categories: Uncategorized

Facebook updates its group settings to prevent any Facebook group of any size from changing its settings from “personal” to “public” in order to protect group users from unintentional exposure.

According to social media expert Matt Navarra, the new setting will provide uniformity for all types of Facebook groups – until now, Facebook has allowed groups with less than 5,000 members to change their privacy settings once every 28 days, but a new change will mean that when the group switches to “private”, there will be no turning back.

This is logical, it makes sense. Although Facebook groups have personal privacy settings, members may be confused about joining a private group just to make it public.

Facebook reports that in the coming weeks, if the administrator decides to change the group from “public” to “private”, he will have 72 hours to cancel the transition, otherwise he will remain the same.

As shown in the image above, the main incentive here is to protect the privacy of group members, but it can also be a measure to prevent meme groups from poisoning new members by switching between public and private.

Back in March, Instagram head Adam Mossery commented on the practice of meme pages on this platform, which became private in order to get more followers.

As Mossery noted:

“We saw a subset of the larger accounts, memorial pages, and many others that are essentially personal, because the growth of hackers [it] has raised the level of anxiety that we are trying to figure out how to handle this.”

Switching to private means that when people share the content of this profile, their friends cannot view it if they are not subscribed to the specified account. This can help pages increase the number of subscribers using artificially stimulated means.

This is, of course, on Instagram, and not on Facebook groups, but the same practice can be extended to Facebook groups, with groups that are gaining momentum, switching to private ones to attract more members.

Most likely, this is not the main goal of this change, since in any case it will only apply to groups of less than 5,000 people. But maybe Facebook is also trying to eliminate potential growth hacks of this kind, and by switching to a single “don’t come back” approach, it can stop any potential abuse.

All in all, this seems like a pretty logical, simple approach to group privacy settings. If you want a private group, you select “Private”, and as soon as you have one, you must stick to it.

Buying fb likes

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *